Patient Reviews

Reviews for Dr. James R. Gordon

New York boasts some of the best oculofacial plastic surgeons in the nation. As a second generation New York surgeon who is repeatedly listed as a "Top Doctor" and recognized in the press, Dr. James R. Gordon continually strives to be the best doctor for his patients. Every patient and their thoughts are very important to Dr. Gordon and he appreciates them taking the time to give their honest feedback. Dr. Gordon invites you to read through these patient reviews to learn more about him and his practice.

Filter36 Reviews  
5.0
ReviewTracker-13882050
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Dec 20, 2016

Dr Gordon really is the best. Being a Dr myself, I did a lot of research before deciding on him. His reputation is well-deserved. Amazing eye for detail and aesthetics, combined with honesty, patience, genuine concern for the patient and a great personality make him an exceptional person and a great Dr. No wonder he is so much in demand! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13464804
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Oct 28, 2016

Perfect results! I'm a perfectionist, and this is my 3rd visit to Dr. Gordon. He has consistently delivered and lived up to his stellar reputation. Kind, calm, talented, honest, skilled, humorous and handsome...... everything I can ever ask for in a doctor!!!!! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13334198
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Oct 16, 2016

Excellent Doctor. Extremely knowledgeable and professional. Interesting personality and great sense of humor are a plus. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13319437
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Oct 15, 2016

Love this Super Doctor. He transformed me into a beauty again with his we'll know Restylane & Botox combination treatment. Love my results. See you soon in 6 months Dr. Gordon! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13168698
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Sep 29, 2016

Beyond grateful I am to this doc. Gordon doc treated me really like his family, call several times after surgery to check how I was doing. Not many docs or people do that in this day / age. Well deserved accolades! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12429622
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jul 31, 2016

I went to many MANY eyelid specialist, but knew I found the right one when I met Dr. James Gordon. Very personable, honest and Excellent surgeon. I really appreciate it. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-11795333
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jun 30, 2016

Extremely pleased! Be assured Dr. Gordon always does the right thing FOR YOU (not him)!!! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-11578163
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jun 18, 2016

#1 Cosmetic Plastic Surgeon in Westchester! My family & friends all vote for this man! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-11334023
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jun 04, 2016

I chose this doctor based on his before-and-after patient results, credentials & bedside manners. Dr. Gordon lived up to his excellent reputation. I could not have made a better choice. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-10663228
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 03, 2016

I have to say, it was difficult getting my appointment. But well worth my time because this doctor is never rushed, and he spends the extra time and care you need. Well deserved stellar reputation. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-10317843
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 08, 2016

I've been to many doctors before for injection of fillers. Dr. Gordon has been the best. No bruising, no downtime and pleasant environment. I will be going back to him again. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-10296562
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 06, 2016

Thank you doc! You're really a special physician. You've made me fee so much better about myself (without any procedure, but just consultation discussing my so-called problem areas). Thank you for your kind words. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-10043285
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Mar 19, 2016

Dr. Gordon is a very responsible and cool Doctor. He took of me from the beginning till end without any problems. I am very appreciative of his time on me. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-9905429
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Mar 11, 2016

Echoing all the good stuff I hear about this Doctor. You won't go wrong. Whether you need simple eye exam or complex surgery, this man takes care of you from his heart. You can feel and see it. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-9738119
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Mar 08, 2016

I rate Dr. Gordon 5 stars all around. His warm demeanor and talented judgement earned him extra points from me. Consistently delivers! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-9414200
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 26, 2016

I've never enjoyed visiting a doctor's office, but Dr. Gordon is a delight and going to his office was such a pleasure. EXCELLENT blepharoplasty performed!!! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-9414199
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 26, 2016

VERY SMART, COMPASSIONATE AND SKILLED!! .. AND WITTY> More

5.0
ReviewTracker-9357918
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 25, 2016

I can see why Dr. James Gordon is so highly regarded by his peers and patients. He made me feel so relaxed and comfortable during the whole time. Great results, now I'm a fan of his! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-8674369
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 18, 2016

BEST & MOST HONEST SURGEON I went for consultation with Dr. James Gordon. I told him I wanted him to do anything that would make me look better, thereby giving him cart-blanche. He said that I should just do my lower eyelid blepharoplasty, because it would be the "biggest bang for the buck." I asked about fillers and my upper eyelids. The good doctor explained that he could perform additional procedures, but I should focus on "what would really make the most significant difference." THANK YOU Dr. Gordon for making me look so much less tired and without up-charging me for additional unnecessary procedure. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-8656955
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 17, 2016

Wonderful wonderful wonderful. I had a great experience with this Doctor who treated me with care and professionalism. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-8565092
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 06, 2016

Excellent Doctor! He treated my tired eyes with upper lid surgery and some injectables. Beautiful & natural results!!!! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-7425357
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Dec 01, 2015

I went to Dr. James Gordon for my Lasik surgery and I could not be happier! He made me feel so comfortable with the entire process, and he has such a calming and caring bedside manner. He followed up with me the night of my surgery and afterwards to make sure I was healing properly. He is a wonderful doctor and I highly recommend him! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-8360904
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Nov 02, 2015

One of the best Ophthalmologist I have seen since I have been wearing contacts. The staff is excellent and efficient. Dr Gordon spent quality time with me and my needs. He was really interested in making me feel that he cared and I was very pleased with his recommendations. You will be happy that you chose Dr. Gordon More

5.0
ReviewTracker-6697449
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Nov 01, 2015

One of the best Ophthalmologist I have seen since I have been wearing contacts. The staff is excellent and efficient. Dr Gordon spent quality time with me and my needs. He was really interested in making me feel that he cared and I was very pleased with his recommendations. You will be happy that you chose Dr. Gordon More

5.0
ReviewTracker-6376671
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Oct 16, 2015

I had my under eyes filled with Restylane to fill up the hollowness. In addition, Dr. Gordon used Juvederm on my lips to add fullness to it. I like my results very much. My eyes and lips look natural, but much better than before. Dr. Gordon has a great eye in details and also the overall balance of the facial anatomy. His office is modern and comfortable, his staff is also very polite. I highly recommend Dr. Gordon. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-6233502
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Oct 04, 2015

This doctor really made me feel good and look good. I love my new eyelids and can't thank him enough. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-5094317
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Aug 06, 2015

I'm Asian, 20 years old. Inherited my mom's thin lips. Was searching for the right doctor to pump up my lips. Luckily I found Dr Gordon, he used Restylane on me. It looks very natural. Thank goodness. I don't want to look like Daisy Duck. I am more than happy with my results. Now I got my sister interested. She's going to have hers done by Dr Gordon too. This is good since we both can enjoy thicker lips and people will think we were born with it. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4356498
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 29, 2015

Whenever I do anything serious, such as consider an operation like this, I do a ton of research. I spent days reviewing all the different plastic surgeons in Manhattan to figure out who would be best to do a potential blepharoplasty on my lower lids. I wanted someone with a ton of experience, recognized for excellence in their field, honest, and also someone young enough such that they still had great motor skills and a very precise hand. That search led me to Dr. James Gordon. I live in Brooklyn, but I went all the way out to Marmaroneck in Westchester to see him (not too bad actually, just take the train to Grand Central, then a 1 hour MTA train to Mamaroneck). Out of all the doctors, he was the only one that far, but I decided he was worth it, I honestly could not find one person who wasn't singing his praises. Here's what happened when I got there for the free consultation. He told me he wasn't going to do a blepharoplasty on me. And that was a pretty incredible thing to hear. Many doctors, just like other professions, have people who will try to upsell you, convince you that you need something more, or even make you feel bad about yourself so you consider something you don't need. Dr. Gordon was the opposite. I've always been self-conscious about dark circles under my eyes and wrinkles under them when I smile. He talked to me about this, told me surgery wasn't the way, suggested some other alternatives if I really wanted them, but even said "Hey, you don't even need More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4356497
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 05, 2015

I really don't think there's a better doctor than Dr. Gordon out there. The day I met Dr. Gordon was one of my best days and decision of my life. Dr. Gordon literally "uplifted" me with upper and lower blepharoplasty, along with skin laser around the sensitive areas around my eyes. He is a master of the eyes who knows not just the anatomy well, but also understands the art of the aesthetic aspect. The outcome is amazing, better than I had expected. I do not look like I had eye surgery. Nothing was too obvious. Everything seems so natural. Because Dr. Gordon is also a trainer for other doctors, he was so skilled in the way he used laser around my eyes to remove my wrinkles and uneven skin tone. Most importantly, all the procedures were done within my budget without any pressure. Truly the best! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-8360909
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 30, 2015

Whenever I do anything serious, such as consider an operation like this, I do a ton of research. I spent days reviewing all the different plastic surgeons in Manhattan to figure out who would be best to do a potential blepharoplasty on my lower lids. I wanted someone with a ton of experience, recognized for excellence in their field, honest, and also someone young enough such that they still had great motor skills and a very precise hand. That search led me to Dr. James Gordon. I live in Brooklyn, but I went all the way out to Marmaroneck in Westchester to see him (not too bad actually, just take the train to Grand Central, then a 1 hour MTA train to Mamaroneck). Out of all the doctors, he was the only one that far, but I decided he was worth it, I honestly could not find one person who wasn't singing his praises. Here's what happened when I got there for the free consultation. He told me he wasn't going to do a blepharoplasty on me. And that was a pretty incredible thing to hear. Many doctors, just like other professions, have people who will try to upsell you, convince you that you need something more, or even make you feel bad about yourself so you consider something you don't need. Dr. Gordon was the opposite. I've always been self-conscious about dark circles under my eyes and wrinkles under them when I smile. He talked to me about this, told me surgery wasn't the way, suggested some other alternatives if I really wanted them, but even said "Hey, you don't even need to come to me for this, you could go here". That's a pretty remarkable thing. I used to work with doctors as a consultant, nobody will EVER do something like this. However, Dr. Gordon is so confident in his craft and dedicated to providing amazing service that he doesn't seem motivated at all on making money, he's concerned about the outcome of the patient and that patient's happiness above all else. He guided me into making the exact right choice and even helped me out with some other stuff completely free of charge. There is not a better doctor out there, trust me. And no, I'm not someone gaming the review system, this is a very honest writeup, I came back from his office yesterday, and feel free to private message me with any questions or if you want to make sure this is a real review. He mentioned he was considering starting an office in Manhattan, I hope he does. He really is fantastic. Unlike most, he doesn't charge for a consultation, and he will tell you exactly what you need, even if it's recommending that you don't get an operation or that you could get some work done elsewhere. -Chris More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4356499
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 25, 2015

No words can describe my appreciation for Doctor James' great work. I was very sick and tired of my old look at 62 years old. It was not until for daughter brought up eyelid surgery and researched on the best doctor for me. Doctor James was very pleasant and recommended both upper and lower eyelid surgery for me. I underwent the procedure about two months ago. It was rather painless and easy, contrary to what I had anticipated. I also had lip filler to give me lips when I have none. Honestly, if you asked me 10 years ago, I would have said NO to all these procedures. It was the overall wonderful Doctor experience that gave me the confidence to do this, and of course, my daughter's encouragement helped too. I'm very happy with how I look now. I would not hesitate to recommend Doctor James Gordon. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4356500
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Mar 18, 2015

I just turned 40 a few months ago, and felt I hit the big "milestone" of going downhill. My skin was dull and I lost that youthful look (and hence my confidence). I decided to treat myself to a birthday gift that would make me look and feel younger... yet not too intrusive. I turned to RealSelf and looked at different procedures. Wasn't too sure about what I needed. Then I saw Dr. Gordon offers free consultation... I thought why not take up this offer. I'm so glad I did as meeting Dr. Gordon was a delight. He was very knowledgeable and professional, yet very relatable. He was able to understand my problems and I booked "Erbium Laser Skin Resurfacing" with him. The whole process was pretty easy and painless... coupled with a couple of Botox shots... Voila! 2 weeks later.. I am all healed and I look all refreshed now. No one asked what I did but thought I had a great vacation and plenty of sleep. I would highly recommend anyone wanted a rejuvenated look to go see Dr. Gordon. You will not regret it. I am now happy and ready for Spring! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4356501
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Mar 13, 2015

So I made my round to see the so called "Best Eyelid Surgeons" throughout Manhattan, Westchester and Greenwich, but no one compared to Dr. James Gordon. From the moment I met him I recognized his superiority to the other doctors. His intelligence, honesty, clear explanations and easy demeanor were a few of his qualities that made me know this was the surgeon to choose for my eyelid surgery. Dr. Gordon was super caring about my anxiety and spoke to me at length about my concerns during my first visit to his office, the night before the operation and again in person at his beautiful surgical facility. I chose THE TRULY BEST surgeon to operate on my eyelids and now I'm loving the results! My sister is flying in from California just to have her eyelids done by Dr. Gordon in 2 weeks. So glad we made the right choice. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4356502
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Mar 11, 2015

I am pleased to share my excellent experience with Dr. James Gordon. He is truly the best Ocular Plastic Surgeon. I experienced first hand why Dr. Gordon received so many medical awards and earned himself an incredible reputation in New York. During my initial consultation with him, he impressed me with his "before & after" patients photos, all of them were real and not touched up. Dr. Gordon's natural confidence, humor & sincerity made me at ease to discuss all my problems without any pressure. Surgery day itself was a breeze. Dr Gordon's skills & techniques were superb and gave me no bruising and very minimal swelling. Even as I walked out of the surgical facility, another patient commented how good I look. Post surgery, Dr. Gordon kindly accommodated my schedule and came in on a Sunday (unheard of for medical professionals these days) to see me. The results for my upper & lower eyelids were amazing. I look into the mirror feeling great and thank Dr. Gordon for being such a brilliant surgeon. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4356503
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 27, 2014

Great service! I go to Dr. Gordon once a year to check my eyes. Staff is friendly and they don't make you wait. Dr. Gordon is very knowledgeable and professional. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a trustworthy and excellent physician. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4356504
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Nov 02, 2011

I have a wonderful experience with Dr. Gordon for Laser skin resurfacing. Since I'm the asian who may has some risk of side effect like darkness. Dr. Gordon was very cautious and did it on me until the techniques improved . He kept in touch with me to make sure everything went smoothly with me. The process was very mild and my skin peeled little by little which was not even noticed by others. Although it's the second time for me, the treatment really improved my skin situation in many aspects. I feel my skin tighter, smoother and the darkness spots is flaking off. I trusted Dr. Gordon and did the Botox . It's amazing that it didn't change dramatically but solved the problem. I was so happy with my decision and his profession. Highly recommend him. More

*Stock images are models. Case photos are actual patients of Dr. Gordon. Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary.